First United Church was the oldest congregation in Galt, and had
a rich history dating back to the
arrival of the first settlers to this area in 1817. They were
Presbyterians of Scottish background.
The official Constitution of the
Congregation took place in 1824 with forty-seven members forming the
Associated Reformed Church. A frame building was erected in 1828.
In 1858 the Associated Reformed Church became part of
the United Presbyterian Church of North America. A stone
church was built on the same site in 1863.
In 1907 the Congregation
severed ties with the American Presbyterian Church and joined the
Presbyterian Church of Canada.
In 1925 the Congregation entered the
United Church of Canada (The only Presbyterian Church in Galt to do so).
In 1928 the Christian Education building was erected.
In 1949 the Chancel was installed. Over the years there were 10
historical memorial stained glass windows installed that further enriched the sanctuary. These stained glass windows will continue to enrich congregational life at Cedar Hill United Church.
In 2017, First United Church held its final service on October 29th, with 256 people in attendance.
On January 1, 2018, First United Church and St. John's on-the-Hill United Church joined together under a new name, Cedar Hill United Church, at 241 Cedar Street.
Rev. James Strang 1833-1857
Rev. Robert Acheson 1857-1872
Rev. W.H. Andrews D.D. 1872-1877
Rev. D.A. Duff 1877-1887
Rev. A.G. King D.D. 1887-1907
Rev. H.J. Pritchard B.A. 1907-1912
Rev. K.J. MacDonald B.D. 1912-1932
Rev. C.C. MacDonald B.A. 1932-1939
Dr. T. T. Faichney M.A. B.D. 1939-1969
Rev. Frederick J. Roberts B.A. B.D. 1960-1969
Rev. Duncan White M.A. M.Div. 1969-1981
Rev. W. Dale Allison B.A. M.Div. 1982-1985
Rev. Robert H. Fretwell B.A. M.Div. 1986-1993
Rev. Philip M. Smith B.A. M.Div 1982-83-84-85 & 1993
Rev. Hilary Merritt and Rev. Robert Merritt B.A. M.Div. 1994-2011
Rev. Ted Black B.A. M.Div. 2011-2012
Rev. Tim Graham B.A. M.Div. 2012 - 2015
Rev. Keith Hagerman. B.A. BMus. M.Div. MSM Merrill Fellow, Harvard Divinity School 2016-2017