First United Church was the first congregation in Galt (Cambridge) , and has a rich history that dates back to the
arrival of the first settlers to this area in 1817. Presbyterians of Scottish background, they worshipped as The Associated Reform Church (1824); The United Presbyterian Church (1858); The Presbyterian Church of Canada (1907); and The United Church of Canada (1925).
The congregation worshiped at 15 Wellington Street from 1863 to October, 2017.
On January 1, 2018, First United and St. John's on-the-Hill United will join together under a new name,
Cedar Hill United Church, at 241 Cedar Street, Cambridge, Ontario N1S 1W6.
In the meantime, the congregation will join St. John's on-the-Hill in their Sunday Services.